What’s The Best Average Cost Per Webinar Registration?

by | Apr 2, 2020 | Facebook Advertising | 1 comment

average cost per webinar registration

So you’ve got your webinar up and running and you’re trying to figure out what is the best cost per webinar registration.

Is it $2 or $24?

Here’s the short answer: there is no general average

But don’t worry, I’ve got a formula to find out what your cost per webinar registration should be.

The truth is that this varies across industries. 

After working on dozens of webinar campaigns I’ve seen $2 registrations and $24 registrations both be highly profitable campaigns.

It depends on a few things:

  1. product price
  2. conversion rates
  3. Desired ROI
  4. lifetime value

Let me show you how to find your ideal cost per webinar registration

Calculating Your Ideal Cost per Webinar Registration

What I’ve designed for you here is a fancy calculator that does the math for you so you don’t have to do this in your head.

cost per webinar registration

What you’re going to need to know (or take your best guess) is your cost per click (CPC), conversion rate number at each step of your funnel, your product price and your desired ROI

If you don’t know any of those, make something up and see what you discover about what numbers you need to hit in order to run a profitable campaign.

Some benchmarks for you (that again vary widely across industries):

  • Cost per click: $1.50 – $3.00
  • Opt-in Rate: 25%
  • Show Up Rate: 35%
  • Stay till offer: 30%
  • Buy: 35%

What you want to figure out here is your lead to sale conversion rate.

webinar conversion rate

Then the next step is to fill the rest of the calculation with your product price, expenses, and desired ROI.

calculate conversion rate

This will tell you what lead to sale conversion rate number you need to be hitting in order to get the total number of sales you want.

Here’s An Example To Calculate Your Own Webinar Registration Costs

First let’s figure out my hard costs.

I already committed to put in $10,000 promoting this webinar on Facebook for the program that I just spent months developing so I can get sales coming in.

But with my landing page builder, the designer and webinar software I’m out another $1,000.

That’s step 1.

I decide to sell my next product “How To Calculate Your Webinar Cost Per Registration” for $997.

I also want to get a 3x Return on Investment (ROI) so that I can have a healthy business, hire a coach to help you calculate your numbers when you’re stuck, afford ad costs, etc.

So that info goes into step 2.

What comes out is in Step 3: my desired lead to sale conversion rate.

Meaning if I can convert 3.31% of the people who sign up for my webinar into customers I can achieve those numbers and hit my goals.

If I hit those metrics I would have earnings per lead (EPC) of $42 which would be massive!

Now Here’s What Usually Happens

If you’re like most people who are just getting started and you’ve never done this exercise what you might find is that your webinar is not nearly as profitable as you thought it would be.

I can tell you this from experience:

“If it doesn’t work on paper, it’s not going to work in real life”

If you’re trying to sell a $197 product through a webinar that converts at 0.8% in a world where the cost per click is $1.75, you’re setting yourself up for failure.

profitable webinar

 

There is some good news though.

As you might have noticed, playing with the conversion rates in your funnel changes your overall sales and cost per webinar registration.

You have a number of levers you can pull in order to increase your conversion rates.

You can:

  • Decrease the cost per click by creating more compelling ads
  • Decrease the average cost per registration by increasing the landing page conversion rate
  • Increase the show up rate with bonuses
  • Increase the people who see the offer by making the webinar more compelling and adding stay-till-the-end bonuses
  • Increase the conversion rates by improving your offer and having better follow up

There’s lots that can be done to improve the performance of a webinar.

And it’s work worth doing.

Most companies I work with are on their 4th or 5th version of the webinar as they have improved it over time and increased conversion rates to increase profitability.

Once you get it converting and profitable you can scale up your webinar with facebook ads like this company did.

Wrapping It All Up

That’s what you need to know in order to find out what average cost per webinar registration you need in order to be profitable and grow your business with a webinar.

Be sure to download your own copy of the webinar calculator here. 

If you have any questions about the calculator just drop them in the comments below.

Have a great one!

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1 Comment

  1. Arne

    Cool post. I have seen a nice webinar here on this Website.

    Reply

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